Bichom district

Bichom is the 27th district of Arunachal Pradesh which was formed carving out of West Kameng and East Kameng districts  in western Arunachal Pradesh. The new district was formed along with Keyi Panyor district as per Arunachal Pradesh (Reorganisation of Districts) (Amendment) Bill 2024. District was officially inaugurated by Chief Minister Pema Khandu. Napangphung will be district headquarters of the Bichom district.

Bichom district will boosts local administration and thus reduces delaying of infrastructural development in the hilly district. Bichom district creation will fullfill long pending demand of different tribes in the region. Chief Minister Pema Khandu in the presence of Union cabinet minister Kiren Rijiju inaugurated Bichom district and said that government is committed to honour its promises to the people.

27 villages from West Kameng district and 28 villages from East Kameng district have  been merged to form Bichom. Nafra, Khazalang, Sirilang, Lada and Bana circles are part of Bichom district.

Government has implemented many infrastructural project for the district including constructing a road to Richukrong circle from National Highway 13 which connects Tawang in northwest to Wakro in southeast of the state. Government also funded Ekalavya Model Residential School in Bana for tribals.

Sarok festival

Sarok festival of Aka tribal community is one of the major festival in Bichom district. Aka tribes offer prayers to the mother earth for the well being of mankind.

Was this article helpful?
Tags: No tags

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *