INS Vindhyagiri

INS Vindhyagiri is one of the seven ships designed under the Project 17 Alpha of the Indian Navy. The ship was commissioned on 17 August 2023 by President of India, Droupady Murmu at Government owned Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers Limited in Kolkata. During the period of 2019-2022, five ships named INS Nilgiri, INS Udaygiri, INS Himgiri, INS Taragiri and INS Dunagiri were launched. All of these ships under Project 17A have been named after different mountain ranges in the southern state of Karnataka. INS Vindhyagiri is the sixth in the series of seven frigates. The frigates has a length of 149 metre and speed of 28 nautical mile per hour.

INS Vindhyagiri, designed by Warship Design Bureau of Indian Navy,  a leading organization in ship designing,  is equipped with advanced stealth features, weapons, sensors and platform management systems. It is noticeable that around 75 percent of the equipments are manufactured by indigenous firms and it is a determined contribution for the Atmanirbhar Bharat, a popular slogan of Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi for a self-reliant India. The last one in the series of Project 17 A is being manufactured at Mazagon yard in Goa.

Old INS Vindhyagiri

This is the second INS Vindhyagiri of Indian Navy, the first one which was commissioned on 8 July, 1981as part of Nilgiri-class frigates. It was sunk near Mumbai on 30 January 2011 after a collision with a German mechant vessel which caused severe damage to ship, then subsequently decommissioned next year on 11 June, 2012. INS Vindhyagiri served Indian Navy 31 years and participated major activities like Operations Flowers are Blooming in Seychelles. There was a couple attempt against Seychelles president Rene in 1986, upon request from then Prime Minister of India Rajiv Gandhi, INS Vindhyagiri actively participated operation. The presence of INS Vindhyagiri  in Port Victoria helped to avert coup.

Was this article helpful?
Tags: No tags

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *