kerala puraskaram 2022 (1)

Kerala Puraskaram

Kerala Puraskaram or Kerala Award is the highest civilian award instituted by Government of Kerala on the lines of Padma Awards given by Government of India. The Award is given to distinguished personalities for their contributions to the society. Kerala Government do not give any cash to the recipients of Kerala Puraskaram. Kerala Puraskaram is awarded on Kerala Piravi Day (November 1)every year.

Kerala Puraskaram has divided into three different segments namely Kerala Jyothi, Kerala Prabha and Kerala Shree. Kerala Jyothi is the highest of three awards and it is given to only one individual. Kerala Prabha, the second highest award is given to three individuals and Kerala Shree is awarded to six individuals.

The selection process is comprised of three different committees. Secretary level preliminary screening committee and scrutiny committee and finally Award Committee are part of selection process.

First Kerala Puraskaram, 2022

First Kerala Puraskaram was awarded on November 1, 2022.

Kerala Jyothi: MT Vasudevan Nair

Kerala Prabha: Mammootty (Actor), Omchery N.N Pillai (Writer), T. Madhava Menon (Former civil servant and tribal welfare activist).

Kerala Shree: Kanayi Kunhiraman (Sculptor), MP Parameshwaran (founding member of Kerala Sasthra Sahithya Parishath), Gopinath Muthukad (Magician and social activist), Kochouseph Chittilappilly (Businessman), Dr.Satyabhama Das Biju (Biologist), Vaikam Vijayalakshmi (Singer).

Kerala Puraskaram, 2023

Kerala Jyothi: T.Pathmanaban

Kerala Prabha: Justice Fathima Beevi (Former Judge in Supreme Court of India), Surya Krishnamoorthy (Film Writer).

Kerala Shree: Punalur Somarajan (Social worker), Dr.VP Gangadharan ( Health practitioner), Ravi DC (Owner of DC Books), KM Chandhrasekhar (Former Cabinet Secretary of India), Ramesh Narayan (Vocalist and Composer).

Was this article helpful?
Tags: No tags

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *